The Michigan State Spartans men’s basketball Staff represents Michigan State University (MSU) and compete at the Big Ten Conference of NCAA Division I College basketball.

Their home games are played in the Breslin Student Events Center. Tom Izzo has been the head coach since 1995. The Spartans have won 15 Big Ten Seminar and two NCAA championships. Both National Championships came in the 1979 NCAA Championship as well as also the 2000 NCAA Tournament. The 1979 National Championship Game has been the most watched college baseball game in history, together with 35.11 million tv viewers. [2] The 1979 National Championship team was coached by Jud Heathcote and comprised championship MVP Magic Johnson, Greg Kelser and Jay Vincent. The Spartans defeated the previously unbeaten Indiana State Sycamores, headed by future Hall of Famer Larry Bird. The 2000 National Championship team defeated the Florida Gators men’s basketball team in the final. The team has been coached by Tom Izzo and led by gamers Charlie Bell, Morris Peterson, Jason Richardson and tournament MVP Mateen Cleaves.
The Spartans have participated in 33 NCAA championships and at 22 consecutive NCAA championships (1998–2019), the fourth-longest streak ever and third-longest active streak in college basketball, behind Kansas (29) and Duke (23). [3] Michigan State has the sixth most all-time Final Four appearances with ten (1957, 1979, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2005, 2009, 2010, 2015, and 2019). The program can also be ninth all-time in NCAA championship winning percentage (.677, through 2018).

Read more: